top of page

Week 6: Rastafari Feast


I skipped out on Devon’s House Ice Cream this week. We went to a restaurant at some hotel in Kingston that served Rastafari Style meals.

Rastafarians preach that “ital is vital” which meant everything is natural. You are what you eat. Natural living is second nature to these worshippers of Mother Nature. I have never been good at practicing vegan or vegetarian eating habits. I tried it once when I was young and my father knew that it wouldn’t last. He switched my vegan burger to his meaty one. I don’t regret it. I understand where my friends and peers come from when they advocate against eating meat but its’ my decision to continue to eat what I like.

When you think vegetarian, sometimes it is thought as tasteless tofu, bland beetroots. Thankfully, Jamaica is known for its spices and have developed many dishes that have as much flavor as “baldhead” (non-Rasta) food. Rastafarians prepare their food in a spiritual manner as they believe ital food increases their life energy. The meals are delicately prepared and suited for many customers. I ordered a jerk pita burger which came with roasted fries (which I think was a type of squash), and a lemongrass drink. It was refreshing to say the least. I would like to try Rastafari food from a street stall next time to see the difference in preparing the cuisine.

Onto my week- the Digicel Run was so much fun! It was like the Colour Run that I participated back in Canada. There were almost 14 000 people there and it was a great cause- for those with special needs! This was Z’s first race and I may have convinced her to participate unwillingly. She did amazing though! Pushed herself so much J. We went through hurdles, bouncy balls, tire runs, and other obstacles. We were worried because it was raining beforehand but thankfully, it stopped right as the race began. I also took a route bus and went downtown Kingston for the first time! It wasn’t as confusing as I thought it would be. Although they say Downtown is unsafe, there were many individuals that night and police presence was heavy for the race. I am excited for my next run in December – the Half Reggae Marathon. Super nervous but it is my motivation to get back in the game.

I joined a program called Meet The People led by the Jamaica tourist board and a lady named Dione who owns her own travel business took me out! We met up at Devon’s House and I met her daughter who she is trying to encourage to take up photography. (Pays very well here but dangerous to carry a nice camera!) We went to the Hope Botanical Gardens which is a serenity of calm and peacefulness. They had an area that was created by the Chinese Benevolent Association who I met weeks prior. We also went to the National Library which was more old school than I expected. The books were in fragile condition and they were not allowed to be lent out. It makes me wonder whether there are any organizations sending them books because they are always welcomed. I also learned their education system does not mandate grade 12 in order to graduate high school. It is also more common to study abroad in the UK or USA for further education. Better opportunities for a better life.

I took a much quieter week and stayed around Halfway Tree, the pool, and home. I’m working out almost every day now with home routines that I came up with. I’ll swim for 5 laps, get out and do push ups, etc. It’s pushing me to work hard and use what I have. We are very busy at work preparing interim reports of our workshop in policy monitoring approaches. There is also a graduation next week for the Police Sensitization training to educate and provide strategies when dealing with vulnerable/marginalized populations. Busy busy! Tonight we will be heading to the Reggae Jam again at the Constant Spring Country Club. I haven’t been back since the first time we went and really want to go! It’s perfect for a night out J

I’m learning proverbs and I’ve decided to sign out with a new one each week.

Nuh hide yuh tick an Iick a man. TRANSLATION: Do not hide your stick and hit someone. MEANINGS AND EXPLANATIONS: Be honest from the beginning when dealing with others. Tara

bottom of page