top of page

International Youth Internship Program

In my last blog, I mentioned that I was heading to Kingston, Jamaica. I was accepted to the International Youth Internship Program (IYIP) which is part of the Government of Canada's Youth Employment Strategy, which provides Canadian youth with the tools and experience they need to launch successful careers.

The IYIP is designed to offer Canadian post-secondary graduates the opportunity to gain professional experience through international development work. The objective of the IYIP is to support sustainable international development initiatives proposed, in partnership with local partner organizations, by Canadian professional associations, educational institutions, non-governmental organizations and private companies.

In order to qualify, Canadian youth must be between the ages of 19 to 30, and be post-secondary graduates, graduates of a degree or diploma program in a university, college, post-secondary school of technology, post-secondary institute or a CEGEP (General and Vocational College).

The Program aims to:

  • provide eligible Canadian youth with international experience, skills and knowledge that will prepare them for future employment;

  • increase employment opportunities by promoting awareness among Canadian organizations of the advantages of integrating young Canadian professionals into their structures and programs; and,

  • provide opportunities for Canadian youth to promote Canada’s international development efforts both in Canada and abroad.

International youth internships consist of a minimum six-month period spent in a developing country working on issues such as equality between women and men, the environment, health, education, small business development, and agriculture. Here is a website if you would like more information about the program: http://www.international.gc.ca/development-developpement/partners-partenaires/iyip-psij/index.aspx?lang=eng. The best thing is that it is paid – enough to live comfortably.

I am currently in Ottawa for a 4 day trip for 3 days of training. I took the VIA Rail from Toronto to Ottawa – all by myself! My second brother dropped me off from Kitchener -> Toronto. Super nice of him J The train was a tough ride though. I got super car sick and it was my first time so my expectations were less than what I expected. But – I managed to get there all and well. I booked an Airbnb apartment (all paid for!) and it snazzy. The downside is that I don’t know anyone in Ottawa so my spare time has been exploring on my own but some of the other interns and I are planning to do stuff tomorrow!

There are 10 of us with ICAD (Interagency Coalition of Aids and Development). Only the four of us heading to Jamaica are actually with ICAD directly while the others are partnered in different organizations. The countries that they are going to are Uganda, Thailand, Vietnam, and India. Everyone has unique traits and bring different outlooks towards their internship.

It’s a very long training workshop but this is important for pre-departure preparation. We have gone over basics about the program, Global Affairs Canada, HIV/AIDs facts, vulnerable and marginalized communities and requirements of our engagement activity we have to do. The most important training we are going to get is cultural sensitivity and emergency/natural disaster information. These countries that we are heading off to are significantly different cultures than our everyday therefor the best we can do is to be aware of our surroundings. It did sound very scary going through some of the protocols mentioned but it is a necessity. Gun robbery, stabbing, political protests, natural disasters, rape, sexual assault are only some of the items we go over. It is important to advocate for ourselves during this trip and communicate with our agency when necessary.

After today’s training, I admit that it makes me nervous. When I tell people I am going to Jamaica for six months, the first thing that comes to mind is safety and violence. They talk about what they heard on the news that I can’t walk on the streets alone, that even in groups- you are in danger. Training made what they said more real to me and I am wondering if I am making the right decision. The biggest thing that did stand out during training though was even though we went through these dangerous situations, they reminded us that there are 3 other million Jamaicans and they go through this every day. No matter where you go, you are at threat. Yes, some areas are a higher risk but it doesn’t mean that you should stop taking yourself to a new point of your life because of it. Staying aware is the biggest key.

bottom of page