top of page

Orthopedic + Dialysis Unit


Our snazzy uniforms

We are now famous around the Taipei Hospital as we walk around interviewing in different departments. We have met many interesting patients along the way: some nice, some mean. I often see some of these patients every single time and I wonder how often they visit these doctors. Sometimes when it isn’t busy, the doctors talk to us and they tell us that a visit can range from 5 minutes to an hour depending who it is. It is common for a patient to wait up to two hours for a 5 minute appointment. They have a shortage of doctors for the amount of patients that they see. I think that is crazy! It would definitely be unacceptable in Canada.

I think it is so interesting that the medical technology and surgeries in Taiwan are well advanced but the waitlist is not. The patient/doctor interaction is minimal and straight to the point. When I go home on the weekends to see my grandparents, I go to their doctor appointments with them. Sad thing is that because I do not look like the typical Taiwanese girl, I am mistaken as a caregiver (which isn’t a bad thing but just many awkward looks). Every time we are at the doctor, it is a short and quick visit to the point. My grandma is the one who advocates for my grandpa because the doctor just rambles on about tests and a prognosis. There is no privacy in the area and everyone can hear about your personal issues. For a culture that is private on family and personal affairs, I find this matter very interesting.

Clearly working hard

I really like talking to the Aunties and Uncles. They tell me stories about when they were a teacher, about their daughters/sons and when they had a certain health issue. They ask me questions about my life, they talk to me for an hour. At times, I have to say sorry because I have to make my quota for the survey collections but they really enjoy it so when it isn’t busy I try to spend time with them.

We’ve now been spreading to different units such as Orthopedic and Dialysis. I think these two departments are quite painful treatments as the patients get needles in their bone to assist with arthritis, osteoporosis, etc. Dialysis patients lay in bed or in the seat while we sit beside them to read the survey. The plus side is that we do distract them from their pain and it helps the time go by.

I think the Taiwanese health system is far more advanced in terms of treatment than Canada. However; I do think that there is a concern for the patient/doctor privacy and customer care. I think that there could be a better way to do things but it could be that there is not enough space. Taiwan is a small country with a massive population. It’s hard to say what they can and can’t do.

bottom of page